Skip to content

The Valor Awards

2021 Valor Awards

The Top of Virginia Regional Chamber has partnered with the local law enforcement and fire & rescue agencies in our region to host the Valor Awards, recognizing public safety professionals, volunteers, and citizens who have gone above and beyond the call of duty in protecting our community. This summer, public safety agencies nominated recipients they believe performed courageous and selfless acts, and a committee consisting of local leaders will be selecting the award winners.

As part of the Core of the Community Festival, the Chamber will be kicking off the first night of events with the ninth annual Valor Awards event on Thursday, September 2, from 4:00 to 9:00 p.m. The program will include dinner, an awards ceremony including special guests Chris & Rosie from Q 102 / iHeart Media who will be our Masters of Ceremony, and a special concert from local artists, The Chris Darlington Band. The dinner menu will include BBQ Pork & Chicken from our local Shaffer's Market in Middletown, Va.

We want to make you aware of this event and ask that you consider joining us to support City and County emergency personnel in our jurisdiction. Tickets are $50.00 per person, or a table of eight can be purchased by calling the Chamber office at 662-4118 x11 or registering online. There is special pricing for our Public Safety community so please call the office for more information. Also, please feel free to contact us directly with any questions that you may have.

We appreciate your consideration of support for these critical agencies and individuals who give so much to maintain the quality of life that we enjoy in our community.


Date and Time

Thursday, September 2, 2021

4:00 PM - 9:00 PM EDT
4:00-6:30 Valor Awards
7:00-9:00 Concert with The Chris Darlington Band

Presented By

Gold Sponsor

Silver Sponsors

iHeart Media

2021 Award Winners

Chief Donald Jackson, Captain Shane Erickson, Volunteers Dominic Cox, Angelo Gannon, and Andrew Hendershot

A Frederick County, Virginia resident might not be with us today if it were not for the bravery of four Frederick County Firefighters who rushed through the front door to return with the then 54-year-old resident just before the pathway became engulfed in flames.

Chief Donald Jackson arrived at the residence after responding from his home to find a female victim lying on the floor, attempting to crawl out of the building as flames danced from the front and right side of the house. Engine 16 was coming up the driveway just in time to enter the home and return with the female victim safely. The patient was given immediate medical attention by Captain Erickson until an ambulance from Gore Fire and Rescue arrived to transport the victim to Winchester Medical Center for possible complications from smoke inhalation. The patient was then transferred to the MedStar Burn Unit in Washington D.C. and has since made a full recovery from that dreadful early morning.

The Gainesboro Fire and Rescue Department then worked with three other companies from Gore, North Mountain, and Round Hill to extinguish the blaze in a remote wooded area.

Chief Donald Jackson, Captain Shane Erickson, Volunteers Dominic Cox, Angelo Gannon, and Andrew Hendershot were awarded a Unit Citation for their actions on May 27, 2021.

Award Categories:

An officer who had shots fired at him by a bank robber, firefighters who ran into a burning home in an attempt to save lives, and a citizen who saved the life of a priest by administering CPR.  These are three examples of heroic actions that were honored at previous Valor Awards ceremonies.

The award categories are as follows:

CITIZENS AWARD - Recognition of citizen(s) for their extraordinary acts of courage in emergency situations or actions which directly result in the saving of a human life.

UNIT CITATION - Recognition of acts by a unit/division/company demonstrating unusual judgment, ingenuity and/or personal risk and bravery during an emergency situation, when such action is beyond that normally expected in the performance of duty.

MERITORIOUS ACTION AWARD - Recognition of individuals for exemplary action, placing themselves in a situation of personal risk.

LIFESAVING AWARD - Recognition of actions in emergency circumstances which directly results in saving of a human life.

CERTIFICATE OF VALOR - Recognition of actions demonstrating unusual judgment, zeal or ingenuity, not normally involved in the performance of duties.

BRONZE AWARD OF VALOR - Recognition of acts involving personal risk and demonstrating unusual judgment, zeal and/or ingenuity during an emergency situation, when such action is beyond that normally expected in the performance of duty.

SILVER AWARD OF VALOR - Recognition of acts involving significant personal risk and bravery beyond that which is expected during the normal performance of duty.

GOLD AWARD OF VALOR - Recognition of acts involving supreme sacrifice or extreme personal risk and heroism which is clearly above and beyond the call of duty.

2020 Award Winners:

Gold Award of Valor

  • Sergeant (Retired) Nicholas D. Chambers, Clarke County Sheriffs Office

Silver Award of Valor

  • Officer Bryan Derryberry and Officer Bryan Derryberry, Winchester Police Department
  • Deputy Nathan B. Spence, Frederick County Sheriff’s Office

Bronze Award of Valor

  • Sergeant Stephen D. Gregory and Deputy Gerald W. Umbel, Frederick County Sheriff’s Office

Certificate of Valor

  • Officer Bryan Derryberry, Winchester Police Department
  • Deputy William M. Comstock and Deputy Eric R. Cutter, Frederick County Sheriff’s Office

Lifesaving Award

  • Lieutenant Adam Still, Winchester Fire & Rescue Department
  • Detective Jesse Thurman, Winchester Police Department
  • Deputy Matthew Clark, Frederick County Sheriff’s Office
  • Deputy Travis L. Bridgeforth, Frederick County Sheriff’s Office
  • Deputy Jason Walther, Frederick County Sheriff’s Office
  • Deputy Donmanuel O. Garcia, Frederick County Sheriff’s Office
  • Sergeant Stephen D. Gregory, Frederick County Sheriff’s Office
  • Sergeant Bryan C. Smith, Frederick County Sheriff’s Office
  • Officer Joseph Shoremount, Berryville Police Department

Meritorious Action Award

  • Officer Preston Funk, Berryville Police Department

Unit Citation

Frederick County Fire and Rescue:  North Mountain Fire and Rescue

  • Rescue Sergeant Bejamin Smith
  • Technician James Lanman
  • Specialist Bryan Beverage
  • Technician Ryan Steele
  • Technician Joe Spacht

Winchester Fire and Rescue: Station 1-B Shift

  • Firefighter/EMT Quinton Godfrey
  • Lieutenant Gerald Bohus
  • Battalion Chief Larry Baker
  • Master Technician Brian Roth
  • Volunteer Firefighter Ryan Lonas
  • Dispatcher Andrea Turner

Winchester Fire and Rescue: WFRD: Engine 1, Medic 1, Ladder 2

  • Battalion Chief Larry Baker
  • Lieutenant Gerald Bohus
  • Firefighter Brian Roth
  • Firefighter/EMT Jeff Hartman
  • Master Technician Dustin Amtower
  • Master Technician Chris Dunn
  • Firefighter Thomas Whipple
  • Firefighter Michael Vickers

Gold Citizen of the Year

  • Bailey Dillow, Winchester Medical Center